The javascript used on this site for creative design effects is not supported by your browser. Please note that this will not affect access to the content on this web site.
Skip Navigation
H H S Department of Health and Human Services
Health Resources and Services Administration
Primary Care: The Health Center Program

A-Z Index ¬†|  Questions? 

  • Print this
  • Email this

Sliding Fee Scale

Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) that receive HRSA funding or those that meet all the requirements of HRSA funded health centers but do not receive funding ("FQHC Look-Alikes") must provide access to services without regard for a person's ability to pay.  They must also meet certain requirements regarding schedules of fees and discounts (often called a sliding fee scale) for the services they provide to ensure that the cost of services not covered by insurance are discounted on the basis of the patient's ability to pay.

Ability to pay is determined by a patient's annual income and family size according to the most recent U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Federal Poverty Guidelines.

If you are a patient who needs information on the sliding fee scale at a health center, please use the Find a Health Center feature on this Web site to locate the health center closest to you. Contact the health center for the most accurate information on their discount policy.